Return of the chambray – Meringue Skirt

Chambray seems to be making a regular appearance at the moment! I actually made this skirt last summer, but what with the state of the weather in Norway I don’t get to wear it that often. However, the sun made an appearance today so I thought it would be a good chance to wear it again. One thing with this fabric – despite pre-washing, it shrank! But in this case, it was actually a good thing, as when I first finished it, the skirt was a little bit too big. And now it’s perfect. Win!

Meringue Skirt

The pattern, Colette’s Meringue from the Colette Pattern Handbook was really straightforward and easy to follow. The trickiest bits were the scallops for the hem, but I was quite pleased with how mine turned out. However, I was unsure all the way through making the skirt whether the style of the scallops are just too cutesy for me…

IMG_5816

Having said that, I think this is an easy to wear, casual summer skirt that goes with a lot of tops in my wardrobe. And every now again it’s nice to wear something different 🙂

I LOVE the Colette Sewing Handbook, all the tips and techniques are fantastically well illustrated with easy to follow drawings or photos. I like Sarai’s style of writing and I felt that the instructions had just the right amount of details. All in all, I want to make everything from this book!! I noticed that Colette Patterns also posted a tutorial on adding a waistband to this pattern, something I’d really like to try next time round. Maybe I’ll omit the scallops and go for a classic a-line skirt with waistband in a more work friendly fabric. For when I actually get a job…

Meringue Skirt

2 thoughts on “Return of the chambray – Meringue Skirt

Leave a Reply

