My Mathilde

It was the recent ‘Great British Sewing Bee’ that inspired me to use my sewing machine to make myself clothes again, rather than just doing home furnishing or clothes for my daughter. So it seems fitting to blog about my recent creation ‘The Mathilde Blouse’ – the pattern was designed by fellow blogger and star of the Sewing Bee, Tilly Walnes.

Tilly sells the pattern directly from her blog as a download and print at home PDF. This was my first print at home pattern and I had my reservations but it was really easy to piece the pattern together and you end up with pattern pieces on sturdy paper which is much more durable than the traditional tissue patterns.

I decided to make my Mathilde in pink linen with contrasting turquoise buttons for the button up back. I’m really pleased with the overall look.

I used the simple instructions that the pattern comes with but Tilly provides online tutorials for anyone unsure of the techniques. I managed to make the whole thing without any mistakes then, when the whole thing was finished I realised I had pinned but not sewn my pintucks on the front! With a little bit of last minute bodging and the odd profanity I managed to sew the tucks without it looking too obvious (I hope!).

Inside I used a combination of French seams and bias binding  to finish the seams. It means there are no raw edges to be seen and it looks great. Nowadays I seem to get more excited about the inside of my clothes than the than the outside…sad, I know!

inside

I have a long term fear of buttonholes that started when I made my wedding dress, my machine just seems to chew up everything in buttonhole mode! Although I had to redo a few, they look great. I think it’s a real surprise when I turn around.

small back

close up buttons sml

My finished Mathilde!

full length mathilde

I had planned to try to adapt the pattern to make a short sleeved version in black cotton with contrasting bias binding. Then as if by magic Tilly released a pattern hack with instructions on how to make short sleeves…no excuse now, better get on with it!

Fancy giving it a go?

http://www.tillyandthebuttons.com/p/how-to-make-mathilde-blouse.html

Project summary

Successes…

  • The colour of the fabric against the buttons
  • The fit around the bust, it looks really smart with the pintucks
  • The finish on the inside with homemade bias binding (I made mine without a bias binding maker)

Room for improvement?

  • I’m a little taller than average so next time I make this pattern I think I will lengthen the bodice and the sleeves by an inch
  • Remember to sew the tucks first next time!!
2 thoughts on “My Mathilde

  1. Great blouse! Nice to see someone else also inspired by the same BRILLIANT tv programme. I have joined a local new sewing club following my renewed interest in sewing. I have also taken a peek at Tilly’s site, though not tackled anything to wear yet. I have so many ideas and not enough time! Well done.

    • Thanks Tina, I’d definitely recommend this one. I’m like you, I seem to have an ever growing list of projects! A sewing club sounds like a great idea.

Leave a Reply

