Ugandan Skirt by Lucy

In 2005 in my final year of University I went to Uganda to make a short film, whilst I was there I brought two piece of bold African printed fabric in a market in Kampala. The first I made my first ever piece of clothing with, a long A line skirt with a zip that my mum helped make. I didn’t do my measurements before hand and ended making it  a tad too small. I still wore it though and it felt like a real accomplishment.

The other piece of fabric has been moving house with me, from airing cupboard to airing cupboard ever since then – until now that is! I finally took the plunge and chopped it up to make a summer skirt. I decided on a Simplicity pattern, mainly because it was on sale when I was having a look online! Supposedly the good thing about these patterns is that you get a few different garments in every pack but I’ve never ended up making more than one piece of clothing  from a pack of patterns.

Simplicity pattern

Luckily I washed the fabric first because it pulled in a few places, shrank considerably and warped a bit too. I think this skirt will be hand wash only from now on!

The fabric is thin so I lined it in black cotton, I meant to line the pockets but got a bit carried away and  forgot! The pockets are a bit floppy so it might have done them good to be lined in a heavier fabric.

skirt smallerlooking backdull length small

Must remember to smile…need to get better at posing if this blog is going to continue…

Project summary

Successes…

  • This was quick to make and I’m pleased I’ve finally used my Ugandan fabric!
  •  I like the way I cut the pattern on the pockets with the writing at the top and the chevron going down to the bottom of the pocket.
  • This is the first time I’ve used French seams and I will NEVER go back!

Room for improvement?

  • Floppy pockets look a little odd when you don’t have your hands in them
  •  I probably could have made this a size smaller
  •  An elasticated waist band has never been flattering
  • The fabric warped so the pattern isn’t exactly matched going around the hem

Top tip

French seams…I’ll let the experts at Collette explain the process!

http://www.coletterie.com/tutorials-tips-tricks/tutorial-how-to-create-a-french-seam

Leave a Reply

